Playing with Favouritism

Playing with Favouritism

If anything as people would say, “grinds my gears” or “sends me through the roof”, it would be favouritism. Have you ever witnessed a coach who blatantly treats someone differently and gives him or her special treatment?

My definition of favouritism in sports is a coach who constantly compares you to their favourite individual; and gives the favourite more attention. To me, I think of it like the coach has a tiny crush on the athlete. It’s so annoying to hear their favourites’ name slither off the tongue every two seconds, while your there working extra hard just to get half the attention the favourite gets. It may sound like jealousy, but frankly, when you know you deserve at least some attention and aren’t receiving any is unfair. This is because the coach’s buggy eyes are only laid upon the favourite.

Signs that you could be the favourite:

  • If the coach has the entire team gathered, giving a group talk, but the coach talks highly of only you.
  • If the coach always smiles or finds some way to touch, give a high five or hug you after practice.
  • If out of many sweating hardworking individuals, the coach always finds you to motivate, cheer, applause, than you’re the favourite.

What coaches look for in a favourite?

Coaches love talented athletes. They are looking to see if you are a hard worker combined with a natural God-given talent. If out of all the athletes, you can jump the highest, sprint the fastest, and perform the drill the best, you’re considered coachable; with the ability to go further in the sport, in terms of being mediocre and elite. Not only do you have to be talented but also if you’re good looking with nice hair and a cute smile than that’s a huge bonus. This way, when the coach always smiles at you, you’ll look nice when returning the gesture. Lastly, if you have all of the given characteristics plus a playful and fun personality than that gives the coach more reason to always talk to you. No coach wants to have a favourite who they can’t share stories with because they are perhaps awkward or too shy.

It’s not horrible when you’re the favourite, only if you’re watching someone else be favoured. I mean I used to be a favourite and I loved when the coach paid most of his attention on me. From when I was 9 until I was 14, I used to be a gymnast coached by Nelu Toma and Paula Lockwood. Gymnastics came easy to me. I always learned new skills faster than the rest of my teammates. That’s why I was Nelu’s favourite, but not Paula’s. Paula had a daughter named Chloe who was also in the same gymnastics group as I was. Of course, Paula favoured her own daughter. I noticed how my other teammates would roll their eyes or make faces at me every time he gave me positive feedback for learning a new skill. Even though I should have been happy, I wasn’t. I didn’t care that the other were jealous because I was jealous of Chloe since Paula favoured her but she didn’t deserve to be favoured. No offense, but she always complained while slacking off. I just wanted Paula to notice how hard I was working and give me half the attention that I felt I deserved. Nonetheless, I later realized that focusing on Chloe being a favourite to Paula didn’t matter. It didn’t affect team’s efforts to improve, nor did it stop me from striving to be the best.

Although it sucks to watch someone else receive the special treatment that you desire, the person being favoured doesn’t stop you from working any harder. If you think about it, the favourite doesn’t chose to be the favourite, the coach does. You as an athlete can’t do anything about it except for work harder every practice and award yourself. At the end of the day, the favourite always senses that they are the favourite and will crave more attention like I did. But use the jealousy or anger as fuel and work harder, because as Wilfred A Peterson says, the secret of greatness is simple: do better work than any other person including the favourite on your team- and keep doing it.

Posted on December 2, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

